Back to site
Eng 中文

News & Events


30 Jan 2017 - Freeway Entertainment

Damien Chazelle’s La La Land continues to blaze a trail during the awards season with 14 American Academy® nominations, making the history books once more by matching the records shared by Titantic and All About Eve, including Best Picture for producers Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz and Marc Platt, Director and Screenplay for Damien Chazelle, Actor for Ryan Gosling and Actress for Emma Stone who also named as the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) winner for her leading role,

The musical was also collected nods in the Cinematography category for Linus Sandgren, Costume design for Mary Sophres, Film Editing for Tom Cross, Original Score for Justin Hurwitz and two nods in the Original Song frame (‘Audition’ and ‘City of Stars’), Production Design for David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, Sound Editing for Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan and Sound Mixing for Lee, Andy Nelson and Steve A Morrow.  

Barry Jenkins’s highly acclaimed Moonlight garnered eight nominations Best Picture for producers Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Adele Romanski, Director and Screenplay for Jenkins’ (shared with Tarell Alvin McCraney), Best Supporting Actor for Mahershala Ali, Supporting Actress for Naomie Harris, Cinematography for James Laxton,  Original Score for Nicholas Britell, Film Editing for Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon. Ali also scored with SAG in the Supporting Actor category.

Mel Gibson’s big screen action picture Hacksaw Ridge is also in the frame for Best Picture for producers Bill Mechanic and David Permut, Director for Gibson, Actor for Andrew Garfield, Film Editing for John Gilbert, Sound Editing for Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright, Sound Mixing for Mackenzie, Wright, Kevin O’Connell and Peter Grace.  The film also collected the SAG award for Outstanding Performance by a Stunt Ensemble.

David Mackenzie’s Hell or High Water also jumped into the Best Picture spotlight for producers Carla Hacken and Julie Yourn, as well as nominations for Original Screenplay for Taylor Sheridan, Supporting Actor for Jeff Bridges and Film Editing for Jake Roberts.

Florence Foster Jenkins has given Meryl Streep her twentieth Oscar® nomination as well as a Costume nod for Consolata Boyle, whilst Jackie gives Natalie Portman her third Oscar® bid, places Madeline Fontaine alongside Boyle for Costume and scores an Original Score nomination for Mica Levi. Captain Fantastic continued its awards presence for actor Viggo Mortensen.

The Lobster snapped up an Original Screenplay nomination for Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou, Silence shone for Cinematographer Rodrigo Prieto, whilst Deepwater Horizon features in Visual Effects for Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton, and Sound Editing for Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli. 

The Best Foreign Language category sees Toni Erdmann from Germany, Land of Mine from Denmark and A Man Called Ove from Sweden which also swept Eva von Bahr and Love Larson into the line-up for Makeup and Hairstyling.

My Life as a Zucchini is in line for the Animation award for filmmakers Claude Barras and Max Karli whilst ‘Can’t Stop the Music’ takes Trolls into the Original Song category for Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster.

Martijn Meerstadt said: “We are delighted for so many of our partners to be nominated for this year’s Oscars®, it’s a real tribute to their hard work and creativity and we feel incredibly fortunate to be involved with such brilliant productions.”